- Florida New Hire Reporting Now Includes Independent Contractors October 15, 2021Reporting Requirement Applies to Contractors That Render At Least $600 In Services Effective Oct. 1, 2021, a new law in Florida requires employers and service recipients to report to the State Directory of New Hires (the Directory) information
- District of Columbia Expands Paid Employee Leave October 13, 2021The District of Columbia has amended its Universal Paid Leave Act (UPLA) and Family and Medical Leave Act (DCFMLA). The amendments took effect Oct. 1, 2021, via emergency legislation and expire Nov. 21, 2021. An identical, permanent law is under Congressional review.
- Allegheny County, Pennsylvania, Passes Paid Sick Leave Ordinance October 8, 2021Employers in Allegheny County, Pennsylvania must provide employees with paid sick time under a new ordinance passed Sept. 14, 2021.
- Clarifying Guidance on COBRA Deadline Extension Relief October 7, 2021IRS Notice 2021-58 clarifies the application of certain COBRA deadline extensions for electing COBRA coverage and paying COBRA premiums under prior relief that was issued as a result of the COVID-19 outbreak (“Emergency Relief”).
- Ohio Minimum Wage to Increase in 2022 October 7, 2021The New Rate Becomes Effective Jan. 1, 2022 On Jan. 1, 2022, Ohio’s minimum wage rate will increase to $9.30 per hour for nonexempt employees. The state minimum wage in Ohio applies to employers that gross at least
- Washington Announces 2022 Minimum Wage Rate October 7, 2021The New Rate Becomes Effective Jan. 1, 2022 Washington state has announced that its minimum wage rate will increase to $14.49 per hour on Jan. 1, 2022. Employers may continue to pay employees who are 14 or 15 years of
- California Family Rights Act to Cover Care for Parents-in-Law October 6, 2021Effective Jan. 1, 2022, California employers subject to the California Family Rights Act must allow eligible employees to take leave under the act to care for a parent-in-law with a serious medical condition.
- California Repeals Subminimum Wage Rates for Disabled Workers October 6, 2021A Multi year Plan Will Be Developed To Phase Out All Subminimum Wages For Employees With Disabilities By Jan. 1, 2025 On Sept. 27, 2021, California repealed a provision that enabled employers to pay wages below the state’s minimum wage
- South Dakota Announces 2022 State Minimum Wage Rate October 6, 2021New Rates Become Effective Jan. 1, 2022 South Dakota has announced a $9.95 per hour minimum wage rate for nonexempt employees. The new minimum wage rate becomes effective Jan. 1, 2022. State Minimum Wage Rate South
- New York Announces Minimum Wage Rates for 2022 October 6, 2021New Rates Become Effective On Dec. 31, 2021 On Sept. 22, 2021, the New York Department of Labor (NYDOL) announced the state’s two minimum wage rates will increase on Dec. 31, 2021. The rate for Nassau, Suffolk and
Glandon Insurance has an easy quote tool, as well as a subsidy calculator and a tax credit calculator. Click through to learn more about how we can help you with your insurance needs.