Insurance News

  • Florida New Hire Reporting Now Includes Independent Contractors October 15, 2021
    Reporting Requirement Applies to Contractors That Render At Least $600 In Services Effective Oct. 1, 2021,  a new law in Florida requires employers and service recipients to report to the State Directory of New Hires (the Directory) information
  • District of Columbia Expands Paid Employee Leave October 13, 2021
    The District of Columbia has amended its Universal Paid Leave Act (UPLA) and Family and Medical Leave Act (DCFMLA). The amendments took effect Oct. 1, 2021, via emergency legislation and expire Nov. 21, 2021. An identical, permanent law is under Congressional review.
  • Allegheny County, Pennsylvania, Passes Paid Sick Leave Ordinance October 8, 2021
    Employers in Allegheny County, Pennsylvania must provide employees with paid sick time under a new ordinance passed Sept. 14, 2021.
  • Clarifying Guidance on COBRA Deadline Extension Relief October 7, 2021
    IRS Notice 2021-58 clarifies the application of certain COBRA deadline extensions for electing COBRA coverage and paying COBRA premiums under prior relief that was issued as a result of the COVID-19 outbreak (“Emergency Relief”).
  • Ohio Minimum Wage to Increase in 2022 October 7, 2021
    The New Rate Becomes Effective Jan. 1, 2022 On Jan. 1, 2022, Ohio’s minimum wage rate will increase to $9.30 per hour for nonexempt employees.  The state minimum wage in Ohio applies to employers that gross at least
  • Washington Announces 2022 Minimum Wage Rate October 7, 2021
    The New Rate Becomes Effective Jan. 1, 2022 Washington state has announced that its minimum wage rate will increase to $14.49 per hour on Jan. 1, 2022. Employers may continue to pay employees who are 14 or 15 years of
  • California Family Rights Act to Cover Care for Parents-in-Law October 6, 2021
    Effective Jan. 1, 2022, California employers subject to the California Family Rights Act must allow eligible employees to take leave under the act to care for a parent-in-law with a serious medical condition.
  • California Repeals Subminimum Wage Rates for Disabled Workers October 6, 2021
    A Multi year Plan Will Be Developed To Phase Out All Subminimum Wages For Employees With Disabilities By Jan. 1, 2025 On Sept. 27, 2021, California repealed a provision that enabled employers to pay wages below the state’s minimum wage
  • South Dakota Announces 2022 State Minimum Wage Rate October 6, 2021
    New Rates Become Effective Jan. 1, 2022 South Dakota has announced a $9.95 per hour minimum wage rate for nonexempt employees. The new minimum wage rate becomes effective Jan. 1, 2022.  State Minimum Wage Rate South
  • New York Announces Minimum Wage Rates for 2022 October 6, 2021
    New Rates Become Effective On Dec. 31, 2021 On Sept. 22, 2021, the New York Department of Labor (NYDOL) announced the state’s two minimum wage rates will increase on Dec. 31, 2021.  The rate for Nassau, Suffolk and

Click Here to Buy Coverage


In 2014 it’s the law that with few exceptions everyone must maintain insurance that meets minimum essential coverage. While for the most part insurance rates have not come down the good news is there are significant subsidies available that both help with paying for coverage and for helping to meet up front and out of pocket expenses.

Who is eligible for the premium tax credit?
An individual is eligible for the premium tax credit if he or she meets all of the following requirements:

  • Purchases coverage through the Marketplace.
  • Has household income that falls within a certain range.
  • Is not able to get affordable coverage through an eligible employer plan that provides minimum value.
  • Is not eligible for coverage through a government program, like Medicaid, Medicare, CHIP or TRICARE.
  • Files a joint return, if married.
  • Cannot be claimed as a dependent by another person.

Glandon Insurance has their FFM Certification and can help you purchase coverage through the exchange.

To find out if you may be eligible to receive either premium or cost sharing subsidies: Subsidy Calculator

 

Who is subject to the individual shared responsibility provision?
The provision applies to individuals of all ages, including children. The adult or married couple who can claim a child or another individual as a dependent for federal income tax purposes is responsible for making the payment if the dependent does not have coverage or an exemption.

When does the individual shared responsibility provision go into effect?
The provision is effective as of January 1, 2014 and applies to each month in the calendar year.

In order to provide transition relief during the first year the penalty tax applies to individuals, an employee (or an individual having a relationship to the employee) who is eligible to enroll in a non-calendar year eligible employer-sponsored plan with a plan year beginning in 2013 and ending in 2014 will not be liable for the penalty tax for certain months in 2014. The transition relief begins in January 2014 and continues through the month in which the 2013–2014 plan year ends.

What counts as minimum essential coverage?
Minimum essential coverage includes employer-sponsored coverage (including self-insured plans, COBRA coverage and retiree coverage), coverage purchased in the individual market, Medicare Part A coverage and Medicare Advantage, Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP) coverage, and certain other types of coverage.

Calculating the Payment
The penalty in 2014 is calculated one of 2 ways. In general, individuals will pay whichever of the following amounts is higher:

  • 1% of the individual’s yearly household income above his or her applicable filing threshold (the amount of gross income that triggers the requirement to file a federal income tax return). The maximum penalty is the national average yearly premium for a bronze plan.
  • $95 per person for the year ($47.50 per child under 18). The maximum penalty per family using this method is $285.

The fee increases every year. In 2015, it increases to 2% of income or $325 per person. In 2016 and later years, the fee is 2.5% of income or $695 per person. After that it is adjusted for inflation.

If an individual is uninsured for just part of the year, 1/12 of the yearly penalty applies to each month the individual is uninsured. (If an individual is uninsured for less than 3 months, the individual does not have to make a payment.)